AWS Advanced Networking Specialty Is Retiring: What to Do Before December 31 (and Where AWS’s New “Maintain” Option Fits)

AWS Advanced Networking Specialty ANS-C01 retires December 31. See renewal, retake and Maintain options, a countdown and alternatives.

AWS Advanced Networking Specialty retirement
On this page
  1. Quick Facts
  2. The December 31 Countdown
  3. How we built the retake row
  4. Renew, Retake or Let It Lapse: The Decision Table
  5. The arithmetic of the longest runway
  6. The discount
  7. What the Maintain Program Is
  8. Where ANS-C01 stands
  9. Maintain vs retaking
  10. Why Is AWS Retiring It?
  11. If You Never Held It: Alternatives
  12. Preparing for ANS-C01 in 11 Weeks
  13. If you have less time
  14. Hands-on is the real preparation
  15. Practice Scenarios
  16. A Quick Checklist for Current Holders
  17. Common Mistakes
  18. Where This Fits Among Cloud and Security Credentials
  19. What We Don’t Know Yet
  20. FAQS

Guide overview

What this article covers

TL;DR: AWS’s own certification page says the last day to take the AWS Certified Advanced Networking – Specialty exam (ANS-C01) is December 31, 2026. Certifications earned before then stay active for the standard three years, no new certifications will be issued after retirement, and the page names no replacement exam. An earlier retirement date of August 2026 was moved to December 31 after customer feedback, according to an AWS community roundup. If you hold the certification and need to renew, the decision turns on your expiry date: retaking the exam before December 31 gives a full three-year renewal, while AWS’s new Maintain program (in beta) extends eligible certifications by one year through Skill Builder activities. Whether ANS-C01 is on the Maintain list is not settled, because AWS’s June announcement does not list it and a September roundup says it applies. If you are a first-time candidate, you have 80 days from October 12, and a reported 14-day retake wait makes December 17 the last practical first attempt. This guide gives you the countdown, a renew, retake or let-it-lapse table, and alternatives.

The short version: this is a date-driven decision. Find your expiry date first, then use the table.

Quick Facts

ItemWhat we found
ExamAWS Certified Advanced Networking – Specialty (ANS-C01)
Last day to take the examDecember 31, 2026 (AWS certification page)
Earlier dateAugust 2026, reported as delayed after customer feedback (AWS community roundup). One third-party blog still shows August 25
Existing certificationsStay active for the standard three-year period (AWS page)
New certificationsNone issued after retirement (AWS page)
Replacement examNone named (AWS page). It points to Skill Builder networking training
Exam format65 questions, multiple choice or multiple response, 170 minutes (AWS page)
Exam feeUS$300, plus possible foreign exchange costs (AWS page)
DeliveryPearson VUE test center or online proctored (AWS page)
LanguagesEnglish, Japanese, Korean and Simplified Chinese (AWS page)
ValidityThree years. To recertify, you pass the latest version of the exam (AWS page)
Recommended experience5+ years of networking, with 2+ years of cloud and hybrid networking (AWS page)
Discount50% off your next exam after earning one AWS certification (AWS page)
Maintain programBeta. Extends eligible certifications by one year through Skill Builder, if within 90 days of expiry (AWS blog, June 23, 2026)
Is ANS-C01 eligible for Maintain?Not on AWS’s June list. A September community roundup says holders can use it. Unresolved
Passing scoreReported as 750 on a 100 to 1,000 scale (third party)
DomainsReported as Network Design 30%, Network Implementation 26%, Network Management and Operation 20%, Network Security, Compliance and Governance 24% (third party)
Retake waitReported as 14 days after a failed attempt (third party)

Items marked “third party” come from blogs and community posts, not from AWS’s pages. The AWS page we read did not list domains or weights, and the exam guide it links to carries them. Confirm them there before you book.

The December 31 Countdown

Most coverage of this news lists what changed. This guide starts with the calendar, because the date drives every option.

Days leftDateWhat to have done
80October 12Find your certification expiry date in your AWS Certification account
About 60Late OctoberDecide whether you are renewing, retaking or letting it lapse
49November 12If retaking, be at least halfway through your study plan
31November 30Book your exam slot. Test centers and online slots fill near deadlines
14December 17Last practical first attempt, if you want a retake before the cutoff
0December 31Last day to take the exam

How we built the retake row

The 14-day retake wait is reported by a third party and not stated on the AWS page we read. If it applies, a first attempt on December 17 allows a second on December 31. A first attempt after December 17 leaves no room for a retry. If you want a safety margin for scheduling problems, move the first attempt earlier. We also assume the 14 days count from the failed attempt. Confirm both in the AWS certification policies.

Renew, Retake or Let It Lapse: The Decision Table

If you hold ANS-C01, the right choice depends mainly on when your certification expires. The table below uses AWS’s stated rules, and it flags the points that are not settled.

Your situationBest optionWhy
Certification expires before December 31, 2026Retake the exam, or use Maintain if you qualifyRetaking gives a full three-year renewal (AWS community roundup). Maintain adds one year. Check whether ANS-C01 is eligible, which is unresolved
Certification expires in 2027 or later and you want to hold it as long as possibleRetake before December 31A pass before the cutoff resets your three-year clock. After retirement, there is no later version of the exam to pass, so a later exam renewal looks unavailable
Certification expires in 2027 and you only need it until thenDo nothing nowIt stays active for its standard period, per the AWS page
You rely on it for a job requirement or partner statusRetake before December 31It gives the longest remaining validity
You are within 90 days of expiry and want a cheaper pathAsk whether Maintain appliesMaintain requires being within 90 days of expiration, an active Skill Builder subscription, and a supported certification
You hold a Professional certification that cascadesCheck what your higher certification renewsAWS says maintaining a certification extends related lower ones. Whether this reaches ANS-C01 is not stated
You have never held it and want itTake it before December 31It is the last chance, and no replacement is named

The arithmetic of the longest runway

If a pass before December 31, 2026 gives a three-year validity, the latest any ANS-C01 certification could run is around the end of 2029. That is our arithmetic on the reported rules, not an AWS statement. It also assumes AWS does not change the policy for specialty holders, and AWS has not said what happens at expiry beyond “no recertification route is described.” One third-party blog goes further and states that the credential “can never be renewed.” We treat that as an inference, not a fact.

The discount

AWS’s page offers 50% off your next exam after earning one certification. Our arithmetic: if it applies to ANS-C01, the US300feefallstoUS150. We do not know whether the discount covers a retake of an exam you already hold, so check your account for the voucher before you pay.

What the Maintain Program Is

AWS announced the Maintain program on June 23, 2026. Here is what AWS says.

ItemDetail
What it doesExtends your certification by one year through curated Skill Builder courses and hands-on labs, instead of retaking the exam
StatusOpen beta, with a feedback survey
EligibilityCertification within 90 days of expiration, an active Skill Builder subscription (Individual or Team), and a supported certification
Supported at launchSolutions Architect Associate, Developer Associate, CloudOps Engineer Associate (and SysOps Administrator Associate), DevOps Engineer Professional, Solutions Architect Professional
Coming later this yearData Engineer Associate, Security Specialty, Machine Learning Engineer Associate
Associate requirement500 points, including at least one practical activity
Professional requirement700 points, including at least two practical activities
CascadeMaintaining a certification extends related lower-level certifications that are active and expire within a year, to match
CostNo separate fee beyond the Skill Builder subscription. The price is not stated
Not statedWhether you can use Maintain more than once, and any beta end date

Where ANS-C01 stands

AWS’s June announcement does not list ANS-C01 among the supported or upcoming certifications. A September community roundup says that anyone who previously passed ANS-C01 and needs to renew before the retirement date can use Maintain, which would extend the certification by one year. We could not find an AWS page that confirms it. The two statements conflict, and the roundup may reflect a later update. Check the Maintain page in Skill Builder for your own certification before you plan around it.

Maintain vs retaking

FactorMaintain (beta)Retake before December 31
ExtensionOne yearThree years
CostSkill Builder subscriptionUS$300 exam fee, possibly discounted
EffortCourses and labs by pointsOne 170-minute exam
TimingWithin 90 days of expiryAny time before December 31
RiskEligibility for ANS-C01 unconfirmedYou might fail, and retry time is short
Best forHolders near expiry who want a lower-effort bridgeHolders who want the longest runway

Why Is AWS Retiring It?

AWS has not published a rationale on the page we read. One third-party blog infers that AWS is thinning its specialty tier, pointing to other retired specialties and new AI and role-based credentials, and argues that networking expectations are being folded into the Solutions Architect track and Skill Builder training. That is the blog’s reading, not an AWS statement, so treat it as context. What is stated is simple: AWS names no replacement and points to digital networking training.

If You Never Held It: Alternatives

If the exam is gone and you want to show networking depth, these paths are the closest options named in the sources we read.

OptionWhat it showsSource of the suggestion
AWS Certified Solutions Architect – ProfessionalArchitecture depth including hybrid connectivity and network designA third-party blog
AWS Certified Security – Specialty (SCS-C03)Security-driven networking workA third-party blog
AWS Certified CloudOps Engineer – AssociateOperations and platform supportA third-party blog
AWS Certified Solutions Architect – AssociateA renewable foundationA third-party blog
AWS Application Networking microcredentialHands-on skills, free, timed, about two hours, multiple attemptsAWS community roundup
AWS Networking learning plan and ramp-up guideLearning without an examA third-party blog

For the retiring exam itself, our ANS-C01 exam questions can help you find weak domains. Our practice resources can also help you test yourself on the nearest renewable options: Security Specialty SCS-C03 exam questions and Solutions Architect Associate SAA-C03 exam questions. If your networking work leans security, our comparison of CCSP vs AWS Security Specialty shows how the security credentials compare.

Preparing for ANS-C01 in 11 Weeks

If you are taking the exam for the first time, or retaking it, this plan counts back from a first attempt around December 14 to keep a retake option open. It is ours, and AWS’s exam guide is the authority on topics. The weights below are reported by a third party and should be checked against the guide.

WeeksDatesFocusOutput
1October 12 to 18Download the exam guide. Take a baseline practice setA gap list by domain
2 to 4October 19 to November 8Network design (about 30%): VPC design, Transit Gateway, hybrid connectivity, DNSDiagrams for three reference architectures
5 to 6November 9 to 22Network implementation (about 26%): routing, Direct Connect, VPN, load balancingHands-on lab notes
7November 23 to 29Management and operation (about 20%): monitoring, troubleshooting, flow logsA troubleshooting checklist
8November 30 to December 6Security, compliance and governance (about 24%): firewalls, inspection, encryption in transitPolicy sketches
9December 7 to 13Timed practice: 65 questions in 170 minutesScore by domain
10December 14 to 17First attempt, no later than December 17A result
11December 18 to 31If needed, retake after the waiting periodA pass before the cutoff

If you have less time

Cut the plan from the middle. Keep the baseline, the two largest domains (design and implementation) and the timed practice. If you are already a working network engineer on AWS, your hands-on knowledge covers much of implementation and operation. Spend the saved time on security and governance questions, which are often the least familiar.

Hands-on is the real preparation

AWS recommends five or more years of networking experience, including two or more in cloud and hybrid. Reading alone is a weak plan for a specialty exam. Build a hub-and-spoke network, connect it to a simulated on-premises site, and break it on purpose.

Practice Scenarios

These are illustrations, not real people.

Scenario 1: A network engineer whose certification expires in November. He has seven weeks. He could retake the exam for a three-year renewal, or check whether Maintain applies to him. If Maintain does not list his certification, he retakes.

Scenario 2: A cloud architect whose certification expires in March 2027. She does not need to act for the expiry itself. But if she wants it past March, retaking before December 31 is the only reported route, because no exam exists afterward.

Scenario 3: A candidate who never took it. He wanted the credential for a job application. He has 80 days, a $300 fee (possibly discounted) and a December 17 target for a first attempt.

Scenario 4: A holder of Solutions Architect Professional. She asks whether her next Professional renewal also renews her specialty. AWS’s Maintain page describes cascading for lower-level certifications, and does not say anything about specialties. She should check her account after any renewal.

Scenario 5: A candidate who fails on December 10. If the 14-day wait applies, the earliest retake is December 24, which still falls before the cutoff. If she fails on December 20, no retake is possible before December 31.

A Quick Checklist for Current Holders

StepWhat to doWhy
1Open your AWS Certification account and note the expiry dateEvery option in this guide depends on it
2Check for a 50% discount voucherAWS lists 50% off your next exam after earning one certification
3Open the Maintain page in Skill Builder and look for ANS-C01The sources disagree on eligibility, so your own account is the tiebreaker
4Decide by expiry date using the decision tableRetake, Maintain or hold
5If retaking, book a slot no later than late NovemberSlots near a retirement date are likely to tighten, though AWS does not say so
6Save your digital badge and certificate detailsThe credential will not be issued again after retirement

Common Mistakes

MistakeWhy it costs youWhat to do instead
Waiting until the last week to bookA failed attempt leaves no retry time if the 14-day wait appliesAim for a first attempt by December 14
Assuming Maintain covers ANS-C01AWS’s June list does not include itConfirm in Skill Builder before you plan around it
Assuming the certification disappears on December 31AWS says existing certifications stay active for their standard periodCheck your own expiry date
Assuming a replacement is comingAWS names nonePlan around the alternatives or Skill Builder training
Studying from an August-era blogOne blog still shows an August 25 last dateUse AWS’s certification page for dates
Treating domain weights as officialThe weights here come from a third partyCheck the AWS exam guide
Ignoring your higher certificationsCascade rules may help or may not reach a specialtyCheck your account after any renewal

Where This Fits Among Cloud and Security Credentials

If you are rethinking your certification plan because of this retirement, these guides cover related decisions. Our best cybersecurity certifications guide places cloud security credentials next to the wider field, and our practice tests hub lists exam resources across the catalog. We could not find a source that isolates ANS-C01 holders in salary data, so we omit salary figures.

What We Don’t Know Yet

We would rather list gaps than guess.

  • Whether ANS-C01 qualifies for Maintain. AWS’s June list omits it, and a September roundup says it applies.
  • What happens at expiry after retirement. AWS says existing certifications stay active for three years and that you recertify by passing the latest version of the exam. After retirement there is no latest version, and AWS has not said what holders do next.
  • Whether a higher-level certification renews ANS-C01. The sources do not say.
  • Whether the retake wait is 14 days. A third party reports it. The AWS page does not state it.
  • Whether the December 31 date will move again. It moved once, after customer feedback.
  • Whether Maintain can be used more than once. AWS does not say.
  • The Skill Builder subscription price. It is not stated in the announcement.
  • Domain weights. The AWS page we read does not list them, and the figures here come from a third party.
  • Whether the 50% discount applies to a retake. AWS says it applies to your next exam after earning one certification.

FAQS

When is the last day to take ANS-C01? 

December 31, 2026, according to AWS’s certification page. An earlier August date was moved after customer feedback, according to an AWS community roundup.

Is there a replacement exam? 

AWS names none. Its page points to digital networking training on Skill Builder.

Does my certification stop working on December 31? 

No. AWS says certifications earned before retirement stay active for the standard three-year period.

Can I renew after the exam retires? 

AWS says you recertify by passing the latest version of the exam, and after retirement there is none. AWS has not described another route for ANS-C01, so check your account.

What does retaking give me? 

A full three-year renewal if you pass before December 31, according to an AWS community roundup.

What is the Maintain program? 

An open beta, announced June 23, 2026, that extends eligible certifications by one year through Skill Builder courses and labs, if you are within 90 days of expiry.

Is ANS-C01 eligible for Maintain? 

Unresolved. AWS’s June list does not include it, and a September community roundup says it applies. Check Skill Builder.

How much does the exam cost? 

US$300, plus possible foreign exchange costs, per AWS. AWS also lists 50% off your next exam after earning one certification.

How long is the exam? 

170 minutes, with 65 questions, per AWS.

How long should I wait between attempts?

A third party reports 14 days. Confirm in AWS’s certification policies.

What should I take instead? 

Third-party suggestions include Solutions Architect Professional, Security Specialty, CloudOps Engineer Associate and the free Application Networking microcredential.

Where is the official information? 

AWS’s Advanced Networking Specialty certification page carries the retirement notice and exam details.

Put this guide into practice

Practice the exams in this guide

Start with free exam-style questions and explanations, then move to the full practice set when you are ready.

About this guide

This article is intended to help readers make a practical certification or career decision. It was published on October 11, 2026 and revised on October 13, 2026. The external references cited in the article are listed below; confirm live policies and requirements with the provider.

Report a correction or outdated detail

References in this article

Reader discussion

Questions, context, or corrections?

Share a relevant question or point out a detail that may need another look. Comments are moderated for usefulness.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Continue exploring

View all Cloud Certifications
Scroll to Top